Gemstones and the Chakras

Chakra bracelet

Good morning beautiful ones!!

We have been busy creating all kinds of little wonderful energy helpers with our bracelets you can see on our Genuine crystal gemstone bracelets page and our FB album, and my husband decided he would like to create a Chakra bracelet to help with balancing the chakras and the energetic body. I myself studied the Chakras during my yoga teacher training and found them to be fascinating and I decided that would be a delightfully informative blog to write about, so here I am sharing my love of gemstones and the chakras with you!

First off, let me explain a little about what the chakras are. The word chakra itself derives from Sanskrit meaning “wheels of light”. They are energy centers spinning or vibrating within the energetic body, and the basic primary system of chakras consists of 7 chakras, but has been shown to go all the way to 13 and even 22 in some beliefs. I will be discussing the 7 chakras here.

If you would like to read up further and learn more on the chakra’s a wonderful book I recommend is Anodea Judith’s  Wheels of Life

If you would like to purchase one of our Chakra bracelets please see our product page.

The location, color association, and function of the 7 Chakras:

1st Chakra is known as the root chakra and is located at the groin or base of the spine. The Sanskrit word for the root chakra is Muladhara. It’s color association is a red. The function of the root chakra is grounding, security, primal energy and survival. The element is Earth. Vibrational measurement is 640-800 Hz (cycles per second) (yes they have been scientifically measured!!)

2nd Chakra is known as the sacral chakra and is located at the lower abdomen or womb area. The Sanskrit word for sacral chakra is Svadhisthana. It’s color association is orange. The function of the sacral chakra is relationships, emotions, sexuality and intimacy. The element is Water. Vibrational measurement is 600-40 Hz.

3rd Chakra is known as the solar plexus or naval chakra, and is located directly behind the naval (or belly button). The Sanskrit word for the solar plexus chakra is Manipura. It’s color association is yellow. The function of the solar plexus chakra is energy, vitality, will power, and personal authority. The element is Fire. Vibrational measurement is 400-600 Hz.

4th Chakra is known as the heart chakra and is located, you guessed it, at the heart. The Sanskrit word for the heart chakra is Anahata (one of my favorite poses is Anahatasana or melting heart pose). It’s color association is green. The function of the heart chakra is balance, love, compassion and connection. The element is Air. Vibrational measurement is 240-400 Hz. To me this is one of the most important chakras and is a gateway to living a more fulfilled life. This chakra unites the lower 3 chakras with the upper 3 chakras. 

5th Chakra is known as the throat chakra and is located at, yes the throat. The Sanskrit word for the throat chakra is Vishudha. It’s color association is blue. The function of the throat chakra is communication, speech, expression, healing and creativity. The element is Sound. Vibrational measurement is 100-240 Hz (with subwave at 800)

6th Chakra is known as the third eye chakra and is located behind the center point between the 2 eyebrows (think pineal gland). The Sanskrit word for the third eye chakra is Ajna. It’s color association is Indigo. The function of the third eye chakra is intuition, understanding, sixth sense, and clairvoyance. The element is Light. Vibrational measurement is 100-200, 740-900 Hz

7th Chakra is known as the crown chakra and is located at the top of the head. The Sanskrit word for crown chakra is Sahasrara. It’s color association is violet, gold or white. The function is enlightenment, transcendence, understanding, and bliss. The element is Thought. Vibrational measurement is 1100-1200 Hz.

Crystals for use with each Chakra: 

1st Chakra – crystals with red, brown, or black color rays are helpful in restoring balance to the Base Chakra. Crystals with grounding energy are also wonderful. Here a few below you can use.

  • Bloodstone, Tiger’s Eye, Hematite, Fire Agate, Black Tourmaline
  • Red Garnet, Red Jasper, Smoky Quartz, Black Onyx

2nd Chakra – crystals with orange or gold color rays  are useful to unblock your energy flow.  Here are a few crystals to assist your Sacral Chakra. 

  • Citrine, Carnelian, Moonstone
  • Orange Calcite, Tiger’s Eye, Sunstone.

3rd Chakra – crystals with yellow (think sunny and bright) can help motivate and bring focused balance. Here are some crystals to assist with the Solar Plexus Chakra. 

  • Malachite, Calcite, Citrine, Topaz
  • Citrine, Yellow Jasper, Rutilated Quartz and Pyrite

4th Chakra – crystals with green and pink help infuse love and compassion back into your Heart Chakra creating a more balanced emotional state. Here a few wonderful gems below to assist.

  • Chrysoprase, Aventurine, Rose Quartz, Rhodonite
  •  Jade, Green Calcite, Green Tourmaline

5th Chakra – crystals with blue can aid with communication, speaking your truth, and expressing yourself. Here are some wonderful crystals for the Throat Chakra.

  • Angelite, Sodalite, Blue Apatite
  • Lapis Lazuli, Turquoise, Aquamarine

6th Chakra – crystals with indigo can help with intuition, visualization, and organization. Some beautiful gems to assist with the Third Eye Chakra are below.

  • Angelite, Amethyst, Fluorite, Iolite
  • Purple Fluorite, Black Obsidian

7th Chakra – crystals with the color rays of violet, golden, or white or clear can help bring balance, purpose, and clarity into your life. Suggested Crown Chakra healing crystals are below.

  • Clear Quartz, Amethyst, Selenite, Moonstone


I hope you enjoyed reading this little article on crystal gemstones and the chakras as much as I enjoyed writing it! Remember there a many ways you can incorporate the crystals into your life to gently assist and balance. You can keep them by you on a nightstand or table, you can create a grid, you can place them on you during meditation, or hold them during meditation, and one of my favorite ways is wearing them! Be creative, listen to your inner knowing and connect to the crystals intuitively. I have included some links below if you would like some great reads on chakras and crystals!

Sending love and blessing to all!!

Crystal energy and the chakras


Here are some great reads if you would like to learn more about crystals and their uses.

Crystal Bible by Judith Hall

Crystal Healing

Energy Muse has an awesome Chakras and crystals chart if you are interested as well.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: